Resolved: time has passed

I’ll make this one quick, due to the late nature of the time I’m writing this.  (Yes, there are several layers of puns in this statement.)

I normally don’t do New Year’s Resolutions.  For one, it’s kind of presumptuous to think you’ll know everything you need to change and begin it on day one of a new year.  If you’ve got something you want to change, why wait?  Start it today, rather than some arbitrary new entry on a calendar.

Secondly. I like to look at what’s going on in the year before I say what I’ll be working on improving over the year.  Sometimes, you’ve just come down off that Christmas high (and are possibly still trying to get the spinning to stop from your New Year’s high), so I find making a rash and rushed resolution to be ill-advised.  Like a test drive for the new year, I’d prefer to wait a few weeks before prognosticating what I’ll be procrastinating.

But thirdly, and most seriously, this year I’d like to resolve something that’s a little unusual for me.  For literally the past seven days, every day I’ve gotten into a discussion (either in person or online) that has had some reference or outright vocal exploration of the subject of death.  Seven straight days of discussing things ending.  People passing.  Mourning, noon, or sunset, this conversation topic has surrounded me.

It hasn’t all been sad, though.  Some people are commenting how they miss their loved ones.  Others are having a religious discussion regarding the end of days… on a personal level, that is.  Still others are discussing ways they want to pass or be passed on (yes, ways to die or be buried).  Lastly, there have been those few “I miss so-and-so” conversations.

As an unwilling participant in some of these, I have come to a very stark realization over the past week.  This year, I resolve to be more positive.  Keeping an upbeat idea in mind.  Trying to find the silver lining in things.  Remembering that, just because everything ends doesn’t mean I have to be depressed about it.

(So it’s ironic timing I got two pieces of bad news in the mail Saturday.)

I won’t come out and promise things that you’ll have to track.  Although experts have said that SMART goals are more likely to be accomplished – (Specific, Measured, Attainable, Realistic, Timely) – this time I’m going to go with an abstract.

And looking up “resolved” in the online dictionary (ok, Google), it comes back with “firmly determined to do something.”  Followed by the example: “Constance was resolved not to cry.”  While the negative waves are reaching out, I prefer to follow Donald Sutherland’s advice (from Kelly’s Heroes):  “Why don’t you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don’t you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don’t you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?”

 

Happy New Year!

Share your tips or thought, or both:

