endings of beginnings

It has been a long road to get here.  Four years of school, and the end is finally in sight.  For now, anyway.  While I have not ended my quest for education and knowledge, I have to take a break from learning to make some money and put skills to use.

Inspiration
Every now and then, you get struck by inspiration.

Doing this is going to take some time out of my schedule.  This is not a bad thing, by the way.  The average individual has 24 hours in a day to use, of which they need to spend some sleeping, eating, moving from point a to point b, and getting things done.  (Yes, this means everybody on the planet is average.  If you try to argue that the astronauts on the International Space Station are average, I’ll dispute that until we’re both blue in the face.)

Courtyard at West
Every now and then, you get struck by inspiration.

Currently, school has taken up the large portion of my day.  (Contrary to the pundits who suggest sleep has that spot.)  Between travelling to and from, doing homework, attending classes, and waiting at school for others who have a class at a time I do not (and vice versa), I spend more than 40 hours a week doing education stuff.  This is not a bad thing.  But now that the education bit is done, I have 40 hours to commit to working with wood.

Now… to find the resources to acquire the materials… that’s a different story.

1455034051543-1847447756The plan does include using new tools that I have acquired this year, which I have already alluded to.  I will record an unboxing of some of them and share them.  The shop-vac ™ has already been unboxed, but I need to find all the pieces again.  (Sorry, I got a little excited when I got this. And I forgot where I put some of the components…like the hoses…)

So that is some of what’s coming up this month.  And then the projects start coming out.  I’ve got materials for three, maybe four projects already.  (You’ve seen some of the dirt filter screen project; more of that will be coming as things get planted for the year.)  We will just see what’s in store together.

One thing I’ve learned: the plan I put together doesn’t always meet reality.  That is partially my fault.  And partially the fault of things out of my control.  While I can’t control everything, what I can control is an area I will be working on, so I’m planning on putting together at least one post a week.  And that will start with this last week of classes.  (And that does mean I’ve got finals coming up… probably a good time to do something like an unboxing video, that requires very little thought, right?)

So stay tuned, and see what five minutes will bring!

Share your tips or thought, or both:

