on my mind

It’s late. I’ve got laundry going, my first day of a neww semester is tomorrow, and I have four legs to cut in half (cutting a dining table into a coffee table). So naturally, I’ve got shop safety on my mind.

I don’t like to preach. Seriously, I don’t. Butthere comes a point when the mind needs to kick in and say “Whoah! Stop!”. Sure, late at night you can find a few minutes here and there to do little things. But the more tired you are, the more likely you are to make a mistake. Even hand tools can bite when you don’t pay attention.

I stumbled upon a video of an example of a split second’s worth of inattention. It was headed “What not to do”, which was the title of an old and vaporized blog I had.

 

It’s not by me, nor do I know the gentleman who posted the video.  It is not gruesome, but it is pointed.  He may have been doing something that only needed a few minutes to do, but look what happened.  Please, be careful when you use any tool, not just one with a voltage source.

 

It is with this thought that I haven’t cut new sides for the bank; I don’t have some flat surface right now that is going to give me a safe cut.  After some cleaning in the house, we will have such a place, and the intrepid pig will commence.  I do want to discuss teeth, though that will have to wait for another pst.  For now, stay safe, stay sharp, and stay patient.  We’ve got plenty of time.

Share your tips or thought, or both:

