Ice cubes instead of everything else

Someone once told me a joke: you have to be a fantastic salesman to sell a refrigerator to an Eskimo.  Later, I heard that Eskimos do actually buy refrigerators.  Sure, some of them use those fridges to keep the food from freezing in sub-zero temperatures, but they still use them.

This comes to mind because the products I intended to use for woodworking this year are stored in my shop… outdoors.  Currently, I’m buried in the middle of Winter Storm Ion, where the temperature yesterday read -8 on the little display inside my car.  It was so cold yesterday my thumbnails were painfully screaming they would pop out.  (Well, maybe not, but they sure felt like it.). But if cold weather is that hazardous to humans, it is even more harmful to the liquid products we use in our wood working life.  Ice crystals are not exclusive to just water, after all.  

NASA has discovered frozen methane and helium on various planets and moons.  Researchers have made speculation about what will happen when the temperature reaches absolute zero (0 degrees Kelvin), and chemistry teachers across America have frozen tennis balls with liquid nitrogen for fun.  (Maybe the fun of the students, but still for fun.). My point is that anything can freeze if the conditions to do so are met.  If you think the product will be fine after it thaws, you might be right…. or you might be wrong.  I’m not a chemist, so I don’t have the knowledge to know if the formulae in these finishing products will be unharmed by extreme cold such as descended upon much of the US.  But I do know that the products I have will be clearly labelled, and future products I purchase will be stored inside.  (Finding a storage place and making a stroage tote are future projects for this site.)

 

And if you are wondering about that piggy bank, well, Christmas was decent to everybody in the family… except it.  Somehow, heavy bags of gifts were set (dropped) on it, and the poor pig had its back broken in several places.  When the kids get out of the house (again, due to the winter storm), I will be able to get back to the project.  Unfortunately, the kids do not play well with the tools or process of working with them.  And since I go back to school next week as well, we get to see just how much wood work can be done in just 5 minutes.

 

(I know, bad pun.  My thoughts are still too frozen to do better right now.)

Share your tips or thought, or both:

