Remakes, Retakes, and Repeats

So, if you haven’t heard, there is a remake of The Sound of Music.  In fact, it’s on now.  (Let me rephrase… you know, do a retake.  It’s on as of the exact moment of this entry.)  This should tell you where it ranks in my personal viewing quest…

 

That’s right, not very high.  That’s partially because I don’t watch a lot of TV, and partially because I don’t have an interest in watching this.  That is not to say that I don’t think there should be any remakes of anything ever though.  I understand that some people do not like the original versions of some things, whether it’s a television show, a movie, a song, a chair, or a book.  Sometimes, the way the original was put together, either the composition of characters or the writing, or something less tangible.

 

I can think of a few items that have been remade, where I have appreciated the original over the newer version.  Then again, I can think of a few examples when I have appreciated the remake over the original.  For example, the newer Lord of the Rings is visually appealing, and I rank it higher than the original version I had seen.  There is another example, however, as the movie(s) were based off this thing called a book… and are remakes in and of themselves.

 

In fact, you could say pretty much any movie made from a book (and vice versa) is a remake.  Some books are better than the movies.  Some movies are better than the book.  Some stand equal, being better in different ways.  (For example, and all apologies to Neil Gaiman, the movie Stardust was better than the book because of Robert DeNiro, but  – and apologies to DeNiro – the movie was lacking some of the … zing … of the book.)

 

But if we don’t remake something, if we don’t take the time to try to do it again, we miss out .  I know it’s a little unusual, but we need to practice something to get better at it.  The only way to do that practice is to – you guessed it – remake it.  Not every version or attempt will be perfect, nor should it.  In fact, it’s in making mistakes that we learn and improve.

 

So, while I will not be watching another Maria have trouble with nuns (and the nuns feel the same), I applaud the attempt.  I do this all the time with the kids… and while they haven’t figured out how to do some of the stuff I’ve asked them to do, over and over again, I have figured out better ways to ask them to do some of those things.  Not a perfect world, I’ll grant you, but it’s getting better.

 

A little better every time.

Share your tips or thought, or both:

