Five Minute Project: Piggy bank – planning

So the next project I’m working on is a piggy bank.  I know, not uber exciting, but it will test some skills.  (Namely, how many different swear words you can say in five minutes… and I’ll be timing myself for comparison.)

 

But seriously, I’ve never done well at boxes.  Sure, they are simple to do.  But for some reason, boxes still are one of my weaker points.  This box will resemble a pig, and will have a slot for coins.  A little paint and some creative multi-material assembly and Voila!  Piggy Bank!

 

But for this to happen, I need three things.  One, good weather.  (I’ve got an outdoor shop, so the snows and rain need to stop so I can get some supplies from the shop.)  Two: materials.  Now, this is still in the planning stage, but I’m again aiming for commonly available materials like plywood and 2x4s… some of which might even be left over from the previous project.  Three: time.  It’s the last week of the semester before finals, and I’ve got lots of tests coming up, as well as a monster paper that is still kickin’ my butt.  (I’ve known about it for some time, but I’m on version 5 now of it… and it’s not getting easier.)

 

I’m not blowing you or this project off.  But it has to take a slightly lower position of emphasis right now, because my studies need to come first.  Not just because it’s been a tough semester, but I firmly believe that anybody who is a student has – before any other job they might need or have – one job ahead of them: school.  Education is one thing you can do for your life to improve it, and it’s something you can either pay for or – as in the examples provided in this website among other, more knowledgeable, sites – something you can find for free.

 

Speaking of other sites, you really should check out some of the various wood working sites out there.  Even if you’ve never picked up a tool in your life, you can find quite a bit on some of them, and even more on others.  I for one head to Matt’s Basement Workshop periodically, as there are several projects ranging from beginner-friendly to “what was I thinking?”  In addition, there’s the fine folks at Popular Woodworking, and Woodcraft, that have some fantastic offerings.  I say this not because they are sponsors (I don’t happen to have those yet) but because I peruse the offerings there.  If I trust the material, I trust that I can share it with you.

 

So I should have some preliminary plans for the Piggy Bank by the end of the week.  But I hope you forgive me if I don’t get it done quite on time… as next week is finals.  Plus, I want to build the bank before I walk you through it.  Remember, I make the mistakes so you don’t have to.  This project will probably be somewhat more advanced than the last one, but not by much.  If you can cut to the line, you should be fine.  (Keep that mantra in mind for all your projects.)

Share your tips or thought, or both:

