48…49…50…51…

The end is in sight. Photo by Jeremy Hopkins
The end is in sight.
Photo by Jeremy Hopkins

It’s still November.  (Sorry, NoShave November.)  I’m still furry.  But the clock is ticking.  Still representin’, still facing the world with the fur, still keeping strong for my fellow men.

And don’t take this the wrong way, but I cannot wait wait for the clock to turn to midnight.  It’s not that I don’t like the beard, or that I don’t feel like a man, or that real men don’t shave, or any of that nonsense.  I just want to stop itching…. and I want to put my “academy points” back on.

I do this every year, because I believe it’s necessary.  This is to raise awareness about Prostate Cancer, to raise funds for the treatment and care of those affected by it, and to have a little fun.  Because one thing that is needed, especially those who have been diagnosed with prostate cancer, is a laugh.  Just because someone has been documented with Prostate Cancer does not mean their life is over.  Something like one in six men are diagnosed with prostate cancer.  According to information from the Prostate Cancer Foundation’s website (pcf.org), every another man is diagnosed every 2.1 minutes.  That’s almost 686 men daily.

Yes, just shy of 700 men per day.

Now, this is not a death sentence.  But it is frightening.  So please, consider helping out, any way you can.  You can donate directly through PCF.org’s site, you can send money to me (and I will be forwarding it to PCF.org while trying to match donations from my employer), or you can purchase items from PCF’s shop here.  There are other options, too, but these three are the easiest I have available to offer.

Share your tips or thought, or both:

