Gravity check?

I should really be working on another project.  I mean, really.  I have a few too many irons in the fire to be juggling right now.  Yet I can’t help myself.

Not all creations are from wood.  These simple flowers were another Five Minute Project,
Not all creations are from wood. These simple flowers were another Five Minute Project,

Some perspective and background for you.  The phrase “irons in the fire” comes from a blacksmithing origin.  Most people recognize this right away, because most people are intelligent.  (Unlike me, at the moment.)  The reason for the phrase is because iron can actually burn.  Did you know that?  The fire heats up the metal (duh, right?), getting it to a point that someone can easily bend it.  The metal changes color as it gets hotter, and each color has a temperature range.  I know there’s a name for this, but it escapes me at the moment.  But metal left unattended in a fire continues to heat, and eventually the iron and carbon elements ignite and burn out of the metal.  And you’re left with something that you really can’t use right away.  So, having too many irons in the fire is a bad thing, if you can’t get to each of them, you won’t have usable material to work with for quality projects.

(I’m focusing on a blacksmith’s forge for a mental image, thanks to the snow on the ground.   Grr… I said it…  Oh well.  Need to keep warm.)

And juggling… well, we used to call out things periodically when I did some juggling in High School.  (I know, not really helping my nerd/geek status with this one, am I?)  The comment we’d throw out is “Gravity Check!”  This could be used frequently or seldomly,  deliberately or to cover an accident.  You guessed it: when you drop something, you call out a gravity check.  Now, I worked hard to learn juggling, but some things still remain out of reach.  (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)  So I never mastered the flaming sticks of heavy metal.  “Clubs” – a generic term that is applied to any juggling item with a shaft or handle rather than a ring, ball, or scarf – somehow always presented me with a challenge.  Now heat up one end to scorching and skin-melting temperature and, well, let’s just say I’m glad I know where the fire extinguisher is.

How does this relate to my current projects?  I’m supposed to be working on an English essay.  Instead, I’d rather create content for the Web.  (Lucky you, not so lucky GPA.)  Maybe it’s an excuse to not do the homework, maybe it counts as the free-writing exercise prior to the paper, maybe it will work it’s way into a NaNoWriMo exercise… Maybe I’ll finish in time to still work on the essay.

And maybe I’ll stop moving, and realize how cold it is outside.

Share your tips or thought, or both:

