Paying uniform thanks to those who serve.

It’s not for a couple of days yet, but I wanted to add my thanks to those who have served this country in the armed forces.  I have several family members, both by birth and by marriage, who have or are serving.  I wrote about giving thanks here, in a separate posting, but I still think we should be more aware of the sacrifice that some pay so that we can have a day off.

(For those who aren’t used to my sense of humor yet, give it time…. eventually it has to get better, right?)

Should we expect to get a day off, even if it is to pay thanks for those who give their service to their country?  Should we do something for them, that civilians do not get to do?  I don’t know.  Being a civilian myself, I cannot begin to fathom some of the secrets of the military life.  Some of the secrets I could, but chose not to, and some I’d rather they keep to themselves.  After all, they don’t have to know all that I do, so why should I have to know all they do?

But back to the question at hand: have you thanked a veteran lately?  There’s so much that they have done for you, that you might not even have realized.  Take some time, and add your thanks.

Share your tips or thought, or both:

